

THE UNITED STATES CONFERENCE OF MAYORS

1620 EYE STREET, NORTHWEST WASHINGTON, D.C. 20006 TELEPHONE (202) 293-7330 FAX (202) 293-2352 URL: www.usmayors.org

November 16, 2018

Jerome H. Powell Chair of the Board of Governors Federal Reserve System Constitution Ave NW & 20<sup>th</sup> Street NW Washington, D.C. 20551

Joseph M. Otting Comptroller of the Currency Office of the Comptroller of the Currency 400 7<sup>th</sup> Street, SW Washington, D.C. 20219

Jelena McWilliams Chairman Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation 550 17<sup>th</sup> Street, NW Washington D.C. 20429

Dear Chairman Powell, Comptroller Otting, and Chairman McWilliams:

A coalition of mayors representing a cross-section of the United States is writing to express our serious concern about the Office of the Comptroller of Currency's (OCC) Advance Notice of Proposed Rulemaking (ANPR) regarding the Community Reinvestment Act (CRA).

As local leaders, we see firsthand how capital flows to certain communities while disinvestment inhibits opportunity in others. For forty years, the Community Reinvestment Act has helped to ensure more equitable credit access to grow small businesses, invest in affordable housing, and expand overall economic output. The CRA was a response to "redlining" that used access to capital as a means to discriminate against people of color, immigrants, and lower-income communities. The effect was a concentration of poverty, a widening of the wealth cap, and the entire United States being farther away from reaching its full potential. Due to CRA requirements, banks have made almost two trillion in community development loans since 1996, according to the National Community Reinvestment Coalition. Yet that progress and the flow of capital into disadvantaged communities could be at risk.

As mayors, our work to promote economic opportunity is judged by real results, and the Community Reinvestment Act is an essential tool in the fight for equity and prosperity in every community. We recognize the need to improve the effectiveness of the CRA to allocate capital in low- and moderate-income (LMI) communities, which should be undertaken jointly by the three federal financial regulators. However, we oppose a "one ratio" rule that would result in less capital flowing to disadvantaged populations and would allow banks to essentially write their own rules. A decade after the financial crisis and the worst economic downturn since the Great Depression, a recession that disproportionately affected communities of color, the

implementation of this law is one of the most important responsibilities of the banking agencies to promote better outcomes locally that reverberate nationally.

We request that that you engage with the mayors of America to have an open conversation about how to improve the Community Reinvestment Act. The deep scars of neighborhood segregation and housing discrimination are still visible today, and we invite you to come from Washington D.C. to our cities and learn about our challenges. We are eager to work with federal regulatory agencies to improve the effectiveness of the CRA and share our experiences at the local level.

We also want to raise the importance of the CRA in expanding the supply of affordable housing. A recent Pew study showed that 38-percent of renters in the United States are spending more than 30-percent of their incomes on housing, crowding out other important investments. The CRA is a key policy lever that's making a difference by encouraging banks to provide affordable mortgage products to lower income families, which builds equity and creates pathways to the middle-class.

The CRA is a vital tool to address the credit needs of low- and moderate-income communities, and we agree that the law should be reformed to reflect today's challenges. However, the OCC's proposed unilateral rule change does not honor the CRA's mission to encourage banks to engage in local community and economic development initiatives. We share Chairman Powell's sentiment that we "do not want lose that focus of community" at the core of the CRA.

We look forward to hearing from you and to participating in the interagency process to improve the Community Reinvestment Act.

Respectfully submitted,

Ron Nirenberg Mayor of San Antonio

Mayor Frank C. Ortis City of Pembroke Pines, FL

Mayor Steve Adler City of Austin, TX

Mayor Debra March City of Henderson, NV

Mayor Jonathan Rothschild City of Tucson, AZ Mayor Carol Dutra-Vernaci City of Union City, CA

Mayor Ted Winterer City of Santa Monica, CA

Mayor Michael D. Tubbs City of Stockton, CA

Mayor Allison Silberberg City of Alexandria, VA Mayor Jeffrey Z. Slavin City of Somerset, MD

Mayor Lyda Krewson City of St. Louis, MO

Mayor Steve Schewel City of Durham, NC

Mayor Rosalynn Bliss City of Grand Rapids, MI

Mayor David Terrazas City of Santa Cruz, CA

Mayor Patrick L. Wojahn City of College Park, MD

Mayor Mark Stodola City of Little Rock, AR

Mayor David J. Berger City of Lima, OH

Mayor Nan Whaley City of Dayton, OH

Mayor Adrian O. Mapp City of Plainfield, NJ

Mayor Zachary J. Vruwink City of Wisconsin rapids, WI

Mayor Carlo DeMaria, Jr. City of Everett, MA

Mayor Hardie Davis, Jr. City of Augusta, GA

Mayor Antonio "Tony" Martinez City of Brownsville, TX

Mayor Mike Rawlings City of Dallas, TX

Mayor Hillary Schieve

City of Reno, NV

Mayor Pete Buttigieg City of South Bend, IN

Mayor Steve Benjamin City of Columbia, SC

Mayor John Marchione City of Redmond, WA

Mayor Michael B. Hancok City of Denver, CO

Mayor William Capote City of Palm Bay, FL

Mayor Michael M. Vargas City of Perris, CA

Mayor Shari Cantor City of West Hartford, CT

Mayor Joe Schember City of Erie, PA

Mayor Sharon Weston Broome Baton Rouge, LA

Mayor Michael P. Summers City of Lakewood, OH

Mayor Harry LaRosiliere City of Plano, TX

Mayor Bryan K. Barnett City of Rochester Hills, MI

Mayor Kim McMillian City of Clarksville, TN

Mayor Casillas Salas Chula Vista, CA

Mayor Ron Nirenberg City of San Antonio, TX Mayor David Alvey City of Kansas City, KS

Mayor Greg Fischer City of Louisville, KY

Mayor Elizabeth B. Kautz City of Burnsville, MN

Mayor Joseph T. McElveen, Jr. City of Sumter, SC

Mayor Biff Traber City of Corvallis, OR

Mayor Mike Duggan City of Detroit, MI

Mayor James A. Diossa City of Central Falls, RI

Mayor William Peduto City of Pittsburgh, PA

Mayor Robert D. Jackson City of Montclair, NJ

Mayor Victoria Woodards City of Tacoma, WA

Mayor Mindy Levine City of Charlotte, NC

Mayor David Holt City of Oklahoma City, OK

Mayor Patrick J. Furey City of Torrance, CA

Mayor Dan Holladay City of Oregon City, OR

Mayor Rodney S. Craig

City of Hanover Park, IL

Mayor Thomas K. Butt City of Richmond, CA

Mayor Karl Mooney City of College Station, TX

Mayor Eileen Weir City of Independence, MO

Mayor Pauline Russo Cutter City of San Leandro, CA

Mayor Mark W. Mitchell City of Tempe, AZ

Mayor Brian C. Wahler City of Piscataway, NJ

Mayor Buddy Dyer City of Orlando, FL

Mayor Robert Donchez City of Bethlehem, PA

Mayor Jon Mitchell City of New Bedford, MA

Mayor Andy Schor City of Lansing, MI

Mayor Chris Beutler City of Lincoln, NE

Mayor Eric Garcetti City of Los Angeles, CA

Mayor John Giles City of Mesa, AZ

Mayor T.M. Franklin 'Frank' Cowinie City of Des Moines, IA